Reviewing a Review: “Every Look on the 76th Golden Globes Red Carpet”

Julianne Escobedo Shepherd’s “Every Look On the 76th Golden Globes Red Carpet” was a very fun read.  She made me laugh, she made me agree/disagree with her, and ultimately, want to know more about this author.  As it turns out, Shepherd is also the Editor in Chief of the online publication Jezebel.  She has written many articles primarily surrounding celebrity life, but also on prevalent issues in popular culture and the media. 

Hosts Sandra Oh & Andy Samberg

In light of the 76th Golden Globes Red Carpet – Shepherd writes a hilarious (and mostly accurate…mostly) account of the attendees of the awards show.  It consisted of a slew of fabulous ensembles, matching Red Carpet couples, and some truly bizarre pieces that made their debut (I’m looking right at you, Melissa McCarthy.).

Gina Rodrigues & fiancee Joe Locicero

  The way that Shepherd chose to organize the celebrity attendees in her article was a particularly interesting reading experience.  There was no structure—stars were accounted for in a random arrangement, it seems, and Shepherd failed to report on the stars in the order that they appeared across the screen.  Having never heard of nearly half of these people (guilty!), it confused me when Shepherd would mention the celebrities out of order, especially when she reported on each celebrity chronologically as they appeared from left to right for the bulk of the article. 

After reading the comments section, there were others who complained that she wrote out of order in each celebrity lineup as well (thank you people! I’m not nitpicking).  Reading this review was funny and interesting – two of my favourite things.  I love Shepherd’s clever digs at some of the outfits, “Emily Blunt is wearing a gown that is identical to a lamp hanging in my kitchen, shout to her and John Krasinski”.  Also worth mentioning, “Melissa McCarthy is dressed like an actual f***ing wizard!!!”. 

Melissa McCarthy

So, where’s the interesting, you ask?  I couldn’t quite put my finger on what Janelle Monae was going for…and Shepherd captured it quite well.  She calls Monae’s look a “gladiator with cyborg accessories and a dresses over dresses look (bring it back!)”. 

Janelle Monae

After careful consideration, I decided to curate my own list of the best looks of that night.  Some in agreeance with Shepherd, and some not.  

I present to you, Sadhanna’s un-cut Top Ten Best Looks of the Night—serving ~fierceness~ (ANTM expert Miss Jay Alexander…you inspire me.).  

  1. Regina King – There is no competing with you.  You are *my* knightess in shining pink armor.  
  2. Danai Gurira – You are literal fire.  This look is so fierce…it burned my computer screen. 
  3. Julia Roberts – In a sea of gowns, Julia chose PANTS.  And the execution was flawless.  
  4. Gemma Chan – You just invented a new piece of fashion…the dromper.  It’s a dress AND a romper.  BRB—going shopping.
  5. Taraji P. Henson – Nobody does timeless elegance like this literal queen.  To wear a forest green velvet dress on the red carpet is originality at it’s finest.  
  6. Billy Porter – You’re about to take flight with that fabulous pink cape and I’m living for it.  There should be a Met Gala theme after you.  
  7. Ryan Michelle Bathe – Tell me your secrets.  HOW did you manage to pull off a classic black dress with such grandeur and originality?  The people need to know.   
  8. Stephanie Beatriz – You’re giving me strong Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper vibes.  And for that, I thank you.  
  9. Camilla Belle – Girl, you’re fierce and you KNOW IT.  I’m loving the classic Hollywood-silhouette X modern runway hair-and-makeup combination going on here.  
  10. Janet Mock – You are a polished, refined vision in white.  The two slits in this dress is designer ingenuity.  
The best-dressed of all: Regina King
2nd place: Danai Gurira
3rd place: Julia Roberts
4th place: Gemma Chan
5th place: Taraji P. Henson
6th place: Billy Porter
7th place: Ryan Michelle Bathe with beau Sterling K. Brown
8th place: Stephanie Beatriz
9th place: Camilla Belle
10th place: Janet Mock

Honourable mentions include Lucy Liu, Chrissy Metz, Lupita Nyong’o, Kiki Layne and Idris Elba. 

I think Joan Rivers and Shepherd would have gotten along—heck, Shepherd might have even gotten her own special feature on Fashion Police. 

Shepherd seems to have a good eye for Red Carpet fashion, and I’m hoping that she will write another piece on every look at the Oscars this year.  Meanwhile, I’ll be plotting the takeover of her job, and you all may very well see my name featured on Jezebel instead (with a feature piece on Miss Jay Alexander, of course). 

Leave a comment